iO Council and Executive

The Council

The Institute of Osteopathy (iO) Council is responsible for representing the membership’s views and interests and setting the strategic direction and budget for the iO. Our Council is made up of eight members. Six members are practicing osteopaths and two are lay members with specialist skills. More information about the current members of the Council can be found below.

Our Council meets four times per year, usually in London, for ordinary Council meetings, during which matters of strategic direction and policy are discussed and agreed.

There is also an Annual General Meeting (AGM) which usually takes place during our annual Convention. Osteopathic members of the Council are elected at the AGM on a three year rolling basis, with two stepping down each year. Lay members are co-opted onto the Council by the elected council members. The President of the iO is appointed by the Council and their decision is ratified at the AGM.

All iO Council members receive a modest honorarium, which covers loss of earnings whilst performing council duties and travel expenses between their homes and their council duties. Members are welcome to attend and observe council meetings by prior arrangement. Members may also put their questions to the iO Council by contacting the membership team at least five working days prior to the next council meeting.

Susan Farwell


Since qualifying from the BSO (now University College of Osteopathy) in 1981, Susan has practiced…
Glynis Fox

Vice President

Glynis qualified from UCO (formally BSO) in 1997. She worked in London after graduating, working…
Daniel Collis


Daniel joins the council as a young recent graduate, who is extremely keen to advance…
Fiona Greer


Fiona qualified from UCO (formally BSO) in 1997 and was the Director of Whole Child…
Danny Orchard


Since graduating thirteen years ago, Daniel has been active in promoting osteopathy both within the…
Austin Plunkett


Austin graduated with distinction from the British School of Osteopathy in 2011 and subsequently founded…
Jo Clift

Lay Council Member

Jo spent over twenty years working as a Civil Servant at the heart of Whitehall,…
Simon Fielding, OBE

Lay Council Member

After graduating as an osteopath, Simon Fielding OBE, DO embarked on a clinical and academic…
Dr Jonathan Shapiro

Lay Council Member & Chair of the Osteopathic Foundation

Jonathan Shapiro joined the iO Council as a Lay Member in October 2017, following his…

The Executive

The iO Executive body are the administrative task force behind the Institute. Members’ welfare and interests are at the core of everything they do, as well as paving an exciting future for osteopathy. From the Communications department to Member Services and Finance, they are what keep the institute together and functioning.

The iO has offices in Luton, Bedfordshire, but they also represent osteopaths at professional events across the UK. Every year, it is the Executive body who organise and run the iO Annual Convention.

A very friendly team, they welcome members of the public and osteopaths to contact them with any queries; you can get in touch with them here.

Maurice Cheng

Chief Executive

Matthew Rogers

Head of Professional Development

Georgina Leelodharry

Head of Operations

Katie Griffiths

Head of Marketing and Communications

Sarah North

Head of Policy and Standards

Please login to comment.