2019 iO Award Winners Announced


The Institute of Osteopathy (iO) annual awards took place on Saturday 2 November. These awards recognise osteopaths, practices and graduates that have shown the highest quality and innovation to delivering first-class patient-centred care.

The iO awards have grown year on year, with 2019 seeing the largest numbers of nominations for each category. Judging this year’s awards was a panel that included: Maurice Cheng, iO CEO, Charles Hunt Chancellor of the UCO, Dawn Carnes Director of the National Council of Osteopathic Research and Jonathan Shapiro, Chair of the Osteopathic Foundation.

Maurice Cheng, said of the awards: “Osteopaths play a crucial role in keeping people healthy. As the professional body for the profession, we want to celebrate those that show the highest standards and demonstrate innovation in the services they provide to those living and working in their local area.

“The standard this year was exceptional with nominations not only from fellow osteopaths but from members of the public too. It is always a pleasure to see the fantastic, positive impact osteopaths have on the health of the nation.”



Practice of the Year – WeaverHouse,  Nantwich, Chesire

One of the largest practices in their areas, they offer complimentary healthcare and have an excellence rating of 97% among patients. Being also one of the first practices in the UK to gain an Investors in People award, this practice has built a diverse team and clinical environment that is engaging and customer-facing.


Runners up are: Bannerdale Osteopaths, Sheffield

Sponsored  by James Hallam Pro Med




Principal of the Year  – Anisha Joshi, The Woodside Osteopathic Clinic, Herts. 

This year’s winner was chosen based on an all-round commitment to promoting osteopathy. The continuous devotion to developing associates and colleagues as well as making training a central approach to their practice environment. Inclusive in teamwork and customer service, this year’s winner has taken a unique approach to promoting osteopathy across a number of social, communication and engagement platforms


Runner up is: Emily Ward, Ebrook Osteopathy and Sports Clinic, Sutton Coldfield

Sponsored by Gilly Woodhouse The Osteobiz Coach




Associate of the Year  – Adam Sealy, Ginger Natural Health, St. Albans, Herts

This year’s winner was chosen because of a genuine compassion and desire to help everyone – from colleagues to junior staff and patients. A commitment to continuous learning that has seen this associate gain achievement in several notable fields, including sports massage, dry needling, and even submitting articles to Osteopathy Today on the effects of hot and cold climates on perceived pain


Runner up is: Hans Sturm, Ebrook Osteopathy and Sports Clinic, Sutton Coldfield

Sponsored by K Laser




Community of Practice – Northern Counties Society of Osteopaths

These communities of practice are examples of osteopaths coming together through common interests, whether clinical, business, research or location to make an outstanding contribution to the development and support of osteopaths by offering local support, learning opportunities and promotion of the osteopathy.  


Runners up are: Cambridgeshire Osteopathic Group

Sponsored by the Osteopathic Foundation




Research in Practice – J Ellwood, J Draper-Rodi, Dawn Carnes, UCO

This award recognises the use of research to inform the way that they practice osteopathy and provide the best possible treatment for patients.  The winning research was on the Effectiveness of common interventions for the treatment of infantile care


Runners up are:

Parental satisfaction with osteopathic treatment of their children: A qualitative study – Samantha Watson, ESO

Myofascial techniques: their effects on joint range of motion and pain? – Tamsyn Webb, Devan Rajendran, ESO

Sponsored by International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine



The iO President’s Medal – Tim Walker

This year, we wanted to honour someone who has been a key figure in ensuring that osteopathy has a bright future in the UK, and indeed across Europe and further afield. An individual who did this not by exerting authority, but by opening up opportunity. The opportunity in this case was to present osteopathy as a cohesive and determined profession.






Rising Stars 

The osteopathic educational institutions have put forward their top graduate from their 2019 graduating class. These osteopaths at the very start of their osteopathic careers will have already demonstrated a passion for osteopathic practice, combined with outstanding academic achievement, clinical skill and patient care. Find out the winners at the Gala Dinner and Awards Night on 2 November.  This year’s winners are:

Grant Barnett, University College of Osteopathy

Naomi Earthrowls, NESCOT

Clara-Sophie Nuernberger, European Schools of Osteopathy

Annie Osbourne, British College of Osteopathic Medicine

                                           Ciaran Power, London School of Osteopathy

                                          Benjamin Rattley, Swansea University

                                          Simon Stephens, The College of Osteopaths

                                            Sponsored by Sutherland Cranial College of Osteopathy