Find an

Zone login

iO Awards


Let's celebrate the winners

Meet our 2022 winners!  We are delighted to announce the winners of these national awards which shine a light on the diversity and breadth of good practice, innovation and collaboration across the osteopathic profession. 

‘Year on year, our Awards have grown in reputation, with each award showcasing to both colleagues and patients, the outstanding work that osteopaths do. At the virtual presentation, we were delighted to celebrate the profession’s contribution to patient care and those groups and individuals that have been nominated for an award.’

Maurice Cheng, CEO, Institute of Osteopathy

Here are the winners...

Practice of the year

Celebrating osteopathic practices that provide excellent care, encourage and use patient feedback and demonstrate a commitment to developing the standards of their service in line with the iO Members’ Patient Charter and values.



Highly Commended

Meadowside Osteopathy

The Ilkley Osteopathic Practice


Solihull Osteopathic Practice

Associate of the year

For those in the early years of their career who represent the highest standards of care, contributing to the success of their practice and showing a dedication to their own professional development.

Highly Commended

Khush Mandaviya

Stephanie Lees


Katie North

Innovation in Practice

Recognising innovation in any activity from delivery of patient care and increased access to osteopathy, to developing new business models or career pathways. You could be an ambassador, raising awareness and recognition of the profession, or leading the way in developing evidence-informed practice.

Highly Commended

Zoë Clark


Osteo & Physio

Collaboration in Practice

For the clinic or osteopath(s) demonstrating collaboration with others. This could include collaboration with other osteopaths, other healthcare practitioners, and business or community groups to support the delivery of exceptional patient care.



Highly Commended



Scottish Osteopathic Society,

AHP Project

Rising Stars

Nominated by their colleges, this award recognises those at the very start of their careers who have shown a commitment to their study of osteopathy and an aspiring commitment to continue the development of the profession.


Michael Perkins British College of Osteopathic Medicine
Marisa Contino – The College of Osteopaths
Seema Bhandari – European School of Osteopathy
Huseyin Tas -London School of Osteopathy
Jan Enders – Nescot
Alessio Gessa – University College of Osteopathy
Kayleigh Bettermann – Swansea University

President's Medal

Decided by the iO Council, this prestigious award is awarded to those who have made a career-long contribution to the osteopathic profession to achieve the vision of a growing and thriving profession, recognised and accessible to all.


Yinka Fabusuyi

About the awards

Across the different award categories, the judges have considered the following overall attributes for all awards:

Quality patient care: Demonstrating quality in patient care in line with the iO Members’ Patient Charter, and is committed to improving the value of and access to osteopathic care.

Collaboration: Demonstrating collaboration or community initiatives that provide increased professional support for the delivery of exceptional patient care. This can include collaboration with other osteopaths, other healthcare practitioners, and business or community groups.

Innovation: In areas indicated by the themes identified for development to achieve the iO’s vision for a growing and thriving profession, recognised and accessible to all. Examples may include developing a thriving business model or career pathway, or affordable or increased access to osteopathic care.

Ambassadors: For the clinic or osteopath(s) whose activities are actively gaining recognition for and promoting the role of osteopathic care in improving health.

Research and reporting: Demonstrating best practice in developing evidence-informed osteopathic practice or clinical outcome reporting to support informed clinical practice.

The Judging Panel

Judging the awards are representatives from all the major osteopathic organisations in the UK

  • Dr. Jerry Draper-Rodi, Director, National Council of Osteopathic Research
  • Susan Farwell, iO Immediate Past President
  • Nadine Hobson, The Osteopathic Alliance
  • Charles Hunt, representing the Higher Education Institutions
  • Dee Sissons, Chair, The Osteopathic Foundation


Skip to toolbar